

VILLANOVA UNIVERSITY

FACULTY CONGRESS

ACADEMIC YEAR 2017-2018

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS the Apostolic Constitution *Ex Corde Ecclesiae* requires Catholic institutions of higher learning to teach the principles of Catholic Social Teaching (Part II, art. 4 §5) and to promote social justice (Part I, B, §34), which includes just wages (Encyclical *Laborem Exercens*, no. 8);

WHEREAS the principle of shared governance in the university setting allows for and requires the faculty to "discuss all matters of interest to the faculty, and, where appropriate [to pass] resolutions expressing its opinion on such matters" (Constitution of the Faculty Congress, art. 1 sec. 2);

BE IT RESOLVED THAT VILLANOVA UNIVERSITY'S FACULTY CONGRESS ENDORSES THAT:

(1) Villanova requests that Nike sign a university "labor standards and corporate responsibility" agreement similar to those signed with the University of Washington and Georgetown University; we applaud the President's moves in this direction;

(2) the university sever its contractual agreement with Nike if it refuses to sign this agreement;

(3) the university constitute a Fair Labor Oversight Committee (FLOC) charged with ensuring that all Villanova licensees agree to fair labor standards.

BE IT FURTHER RECOMMENDED BY THE FACULTY CONGRESS THAT:

(1) the FLOC follow the protocol of the standing University committees in its composition and appointments;

(2) the FLOC develop official written guidelines on labor standards and corporate responsibility that can inform the university's contracts with all outside vendors, including but not limited to Nike;

Aronte Bennett, Joe Betz, Sheryl Bowen, Danai Chasaki, Sohail Chaudhry, Jerusha Conner (Chair), Gordon Coonfield, Alice Dailey, Mirela Damian, Angela DiBenedetto, Jennifer M. Dixon, Rick Eckstein, Dianne Ellis, David Fiorenza, Ruth Gordon, Marylu Hill, Shelly Howton, Stephanie Katz, Jeremy Kees, Christopher Kilby, Rory Kramer, Michael Levitan, Eric Lomazoff, Margaret (Peggy) Lyons, Mike McGoldrick, Joe Micucci, Elizabeth Petit de Mange; James Peyton Jones, Alan Pichanick, Salvatore Poeta, Michael Posner, Rees Rankin, Quinetta Roberson, Jennifer Ross, Joseph Schick, Catherine Warrick (Vice Chair), Kelly Welch, Mark Wilson, Dennis Wykoff, Rosalind Wynne, Tianxia (Tina) Yang

(3) the FLOC by-laws be submitted to the University Council for discussion and approval.

Resolved this $27^{\rm th}$ day of November, 2017