

VILLANOVA UNIVERSITY FACULTY CONGRESS

Academic Year 2015-2016

FROM THE CHAIR

Gaile Pohlhaus Carol Ambruster Mary Desmond Christopher Kilby Carol Anthony Angela DiBenedetto Julie Klein Sallv Scholz Connie Titone Pam Blewitt Kail C. Ellis *Helen Lafferty* Sherry Bowen Barbara Wall Kathryn Getek-Soltis Adele Lindenmeyr Lillian Cassel Judith Giesberg Jean Lutes Kelly Welch Jerusha Conner *Catherine Hill* June Lytel-Murphy R. Kelman Wieder Linda Copel John Johannes Susan Mackey-Kallis Deanna Zubris Mirela Damian John Kelley Kathy Nazar

It should come as a surprise to no one that the leadership of the Faculty Congress was pleased to read the University President's e-mail of January 11 of this year, in which he announced the changes to parental leave for faculty. This improved policy will help Villanova continue to attract and retain faculty of the highest caliber.

As much as we all appreciate the stroke of the pen that formally made these changes a reality, a bit of recognition is due to those colleagues whose persistent efforts kept alive an ongoing dialogue that lasted several decades. Present and future generations of Villanova faculty (and their families) will forever be indebted to the countless colleagues who persevered for this important benefit.

Please consider this very incomplete list of colleagues who contributed to an improved parental leave policy for faculty. Some were department chairs or wore other administrators' hats during discussions, others worked on the CLAS Committee on the Status of Women (2005-06), and still others retired before seeing the realization of this year's new policy. None sought recognition for their efforts — indeed, many worked quietly, behind the scenes, and for years — but all deserve our thanks.

It is my sincere hope that university faculty will take inspiration from these colleagues and will continue to advocate — actively, respectfully, relentlessly — for matters that are important to them. Our workplace will always be better for it: in faculty governance and in the university more generally.

I offer this list in the hopes that it can be included in the minutes from today's meeting, with sincere apologies to all those whom I have not listed and, especially, with renewed gratitude to all.

Seth Whidden Chair, 2014–16 Faculty Congress 4 February 2016

Joe Betz, Wayne Bremser, Lillian Cassel, Suzanne Clain, Jerusha Conner (Vice Chair), Linda Copel, Alice Dailey, Mark Doorley, Rick Eckstein, Diane Ellis, Frank Falcone, David Fiorenza, Ruth Gordon, Judith Hadley, Paul Hanouna, Jeremy Kees, Julie Klein, Edward Kresch, Sarvesh Kulkarni, Michael Levitan, Mi Luo, Wenhong Luo, Susan Mackey-Kallis, Michael McGoldrick, Joseph Micucci, John Olson, Paul Pasles, Salvatore Poeta, Louise Russo, Katina Sawyer, Lisa Sewell, Nancy Sharts-Hopko, Robert Styer, Catherine Warrick, Thomas Way, Kelly Welch, Seth Whidden (Chair), Joyce Willens, Miron Wolnicki, Humanities APC open seat